U.S. Finalists for the 2013 International Woolmark Prize

Each of the designers below are U.S. finalists of the 2013 International Woolmark Prize. The award promotes awareness of Merino wool fiber, a natural and renewable source of fiber that provides resilience, softness, and stability to designs. The award not only showcases Merino wool’s functionality and beauty to both designers and consumers but it also emphasizes its natural benefits. Previous winners include fashion masterminds Karl Lagerfeld and Yves Saint Laurent whom accepted their awards in 1954 and cemented the importance of wool in the composition of designs. And as a leading authority on the use of wool, The Woolmark Company and its multiple affiliates own the renowned Woolmark-logo found on over 2 billion garments since its 1964 inception.

The USA nominees listed below are all affiliated with the CFDA and are competing on Tuesday, July 9 to represent the USA region in the 2013 International Woolmark Prize final, which will be held in Milan in February 2014. Four other regional awards are presented, in Australia, China, India, Europe and the  winner from the USA region will receive $100,000 as a contribution towards their next collection, as well as an invitation to participate in the international final. The overall winner will receive a further $100,000 towards their next fashion show and have their designs stocked by leading global retailers including Harvey Nichols in the UK, 10 Corso Como in Italy, Joyce in China, Eickoff in Germany and David Jones in Australia.



Bibhu Mohapatra

Creatures of the Wind

Daniel Vosovic


Ohne Titel

Timo Weiland


Wes Gordon