CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Winners Announced


Monique Pean and Patrik Ervell Named Runners-Up

Last night, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) and VOGUE announced the recipients of the sixth annual awards from the CFDA/VOGUE Fashion Fund (CVFF). The winners and runners-up are:

Sophie Théallet
Monique Pean
Patrik Ervell

The winner and runners-up will meet regularly with a team of business mentors, who will be assembled based on the designers’ specific needs for business expertise and resources. Additionally, the winner will receive $200,000 and the runners-up will each get $50,000. The cash awards are designed to encourage and enable these emerging designers to pursue their design plans. Since its inception in 2003, the program has granted $1.8 million to fifteen different design companies, including 3.1 Phillip Lim, Albertus Swanepoel, Alexander Wang, Doo.Ri, Derek Lam, Philip Crangi, Proenza Schouler, Rodarte, Rogan, Thakoon, Thom Browne, Trovata, and Vena Cava.

The CFDA/VOGUE Fashion Fund is in partnership with the GAP, and generously underwritten by American Express, Appleman Foundation, Barneys New York, Coach, Evgeny Lebedev, Hudson Bay Trading Company, Juicy Couture, Liz Claiborne Inc., L’Oréal Paris, Nordstrom, Theory, and VOGUE.

The 2009 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Awards gala was generously underwritten by Cartier.

The CFDA/VOGUE Fashion Fund was established in 2003 to help emerging American design talent find continued success in the business of fashion. This year, 136 individual design businesses requested applications. From the 97 that were completed, the CVFF Selection Committee selected 10 finalists, whose names were announced in July 2009. The 10 finalists were:

ALABAMA CHANIN – Natalie Chanin
ESQUIVEL SHOES – George Esquivel
GARY GRAHAM – Gary Graham
HOUSE OF WARIS – Waris Ahluwalia
MONIQUE PEAN – Monique Pean
OHNE TITEL – Flora Gill and Alexa Adams
PATRIK ERVELL – Patrik Ervell
SOPHIE THEALLET – Sophie Théallet
SPURR – Simon Spurr
WAYNE – Wayne Lee

On hand to celebrate the achievement of this year’s winners and honorees were an array of iconic American designers, including CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg, Carolina Herrera, Francisco Costa, and Vera Wang; as well as Nicole Kidman who presented the Awards to the winners; Alber Elbaz who spoke movingly of his experience in the business; and former CVFF winners and runners-up Albertus Swanepoel, Alexander Wang, Derek Lam, Doo-Ri Chung, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez, Jason Wu, Lisa Mayock & Sophie Buhai, Peter Som, Phillip Lim, Philip Crangi, Rogan Gregory, Kate & Laura Mulleavey, and Thakoon Panichgul. Other notables included Aerin Lauder Zinterhofer, Alexa Chung, Alejandro Ingelmo, Amanda Brooks, Anna Torv, Caroline Trentini, Cassie, Chanel Iman, Coca Rocha, David Lauren, David Neville, Ed Westwick, Frederic Fekkai, Georgina Chapman, Gilles Mendel, Ingrid Vandebosch, Jacquetta Wheeler, Jeff Gordon, Jeff Halmos, Jessica Szohr, John Whitledge, Justin Giunta, Karlie Kloss, Karen Elson, Keren Craig, Lauren Santo Domingo, Lauren Bush, Lauren Dupont, Lily Donaldson, Lilly Collins, Lisa Airan, Marcus Wainwright, Mark Ronson, Marina Rust, Michael Bastian, Mickey Sumner, Nicole & Michael Colovos, Patrick Demarchelier, Poppy Delevingne, Prabal Gurung, Rachel Roy, Richard Chai, Thom Browne, Tory Burch, Victoria Bartlett, Victoria Traina, Zac Posen, and Zoe Kazan.

Of the evening, CFDA Executive Director Steven Kolb said, “The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund not only ensures that young talent is given the tools and support needed to succeed in a competitive global marketplace, but it also serves as a cornerstone in growing an industry that is vital to a strong American economy.”

The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund also provides ongoing mentorship and support to all of the finalists through its Business Advisory Committee. The resource is for guidance and targeted feedback on these designers’ future potential and growth in the business. The members of the 2009 CVFF Business Advisory Committee are:

David McTague, Partnered Brands, LIZ CLAIBORNE
James Seuss, COLE HAAN
Harlan Bratcher, A|X ARMANI EXCHANGE
Maryann Fitzmaurice, AMERICAN EXPRESS
Pamela Thomas Graham, ANGELO GORDON & CO.

This year’s CVFF Selection Committee is comprised of the following individuals:
Julie Gilhart, Senior Vice President/Fashion Director, BARNEYS NEW YORK
Jeffrey Kalinsky, President, JEFFREY and Executive Vice President, Designer Merchandising, NORDSTROM
Steven Kolb, Executive Director, CFDA
Reed Krakoff, President, Executive Creative Director, COACH
Patrick Robinson, Executive Vice President of Design, GAP
Andrew Rosen, President and Founder, THEORY
Sally Singer, Fashion News Director, VOGUE
Lisa Smilor, Associate Director, CFDA
Diane von Furstenberg, President, CFDA
Anna Wintour, Editor in Chief, VOGUE

To be eligible for the CVFF, applicants must: 1) have a primary design business in the United States, which has been in existence for a minimum of two consecutive years; 2) be a designer of demonstrable talent, as evidenced through substantial and recent editorial coverage, and have support (i.e., orders) from key retailers; and 3) have professional staff (paid and volunteer) that can devote the time and effort required to accomplish the stated aims of an applicant’s design career plans.

For more information, please contact:

Souri Kim/KCD
+ 1 212 590 5113

Patrick O’Connell
+1 212 286 8369