10 Designers Named

July 16, 2010—The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) and Vogue are pleased to announce the ten (10) Finalists for the seventh-annual CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund initiative, which provides financial support and business mentorship for emerging designers. The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund is generously sponsored by partner J.CREW, underwriters American Express, Appleman Foundation, Barneys New York, Coach, Juicy Couture, Liz Claiborne Inc, Lord & Taylor, L’Oréal Paris, Nordstrom, Theory and Vogue.

The 2010 finalists are:
ALTUZARRA – Joseph Altuzarra
BILLY REID – Billy Reid
CHRISTIAN COTA – Christian Cota
EDDIE BORGO – Eddie Borgo
GREGORY PARKINSON – Gregory Parkinson
LODEN DAGER – Oliver Helden and Paul Marlow
MOSS LIPOW – Moss Lipow
PRABAL GURUNG – Prabal Gurung
ROBERT GELLER – Robert Geller

At the end of July, the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Selection Committee will meet with each Finalist to review their current collections and to conduct in-depth interviews. Subsequently, Committee members will make site visits to the design studio of each Finalist. As part of the judging process, this year’s Finalists will be asked to participate in a special design project underwritten by Ann Taylor. The designers’ one-of-a-kind looks will be unveiled in October. Additionally, Frederic Fekkai will underwrite a (consumer) fashion show featuring several looks by each Finalist, which will take place at Chateau Marmont in Los Angles on October 19th. The winner(s) will be announced in New York City on November 15 at a gala dinner underwritten by eBay.

Vogue Editor in Chief Anna Wintour says, “Fashion is probably the only industry in the world where its fledgling talents are expected to be as creatively adept at running a business as they are at design. Many, clearly, are not, and it’s through the support of the Fund that these promising designers will be able to build a future for themselves—and for American fashion.”

CFDA Executive Director Steven Kolb says, “This year’s 10 finalists show a depth of creativity and talent that is inspiring to the industry as a whole. The designers’ compelling portfolios clearly demonstrate that future of American fashion is expansive and bright. CFDA, Vogue, and all of our generous sponsors are honored to acknowledge this new and talented group.”

The members of the 2010 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Selection Committee are:

Julie Gilhart, Senior Vice President/Fashion Director, BARNEYS NEW YORK
Mark Holgate, Fashion News Director, VOGUE
Jeffrey Kalinsky, President, JEFFREY and
Executive Vice President, NORDSTROM
Steven Kolb, Executive Director, CFDA
Reed Krakoff, President, Executive Creative Director, COACH
Jenna Lyons, Executive Creative Director, J.CREW
Andrew Rosen, President and Founder, THEORY
Lisa Smilor, Associate Executive Director, CFDA
Diane von Furstenberg, President, CFDA
Anna Wintour, Editor in Chief, VOGUE

The members of the 2010 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Business Advisory Committee are:
Christine Beauchamp, President, Ann Taylor Stores, ANN TAYLOR
Harlan Bratcher, Chief Executive, A X ARMANI
Richard Dickson, President, JONES APPAREL GROUP
Douglas Hand, Founding Partner, HAND, BALDACHIN & AMBURGEY, LLP
Karen Harvey, Chief Executive Officer, KAREN HARVEY CONSULTING GROUP
Brendan Hoffman, Chairman and CEO, LORD AND TAYLOR
Tom Murry, President and CEO, CALVIN KLEIN INC.
Lorrie Norrington, President, EBAY MARKETPLACES
Maryann Fitzmaurice Reilly, SVP, OPEN Partnerships and Business Development, AMERICAN EXPRESS
David N. Roberts, Senior Managing Director, ANGELO, GORDON & CO.
Andrew Rosen, President and COO, THEORY LLC
Mortimer Singer, President, MARVIN TRAUB ASSOCIATES
Paula Sutter, President, DIANE VON FURSTENBERG

For more information, please contact:

Hallie Chrisman at KCD
(212) 590-5118

Megan Salt
(212) 286-6884

The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund was established to help emerging American design talent find continued success in the business of fashion. It is expected that the awards ($200,000 to the winner and up to $50,000 each to two runners-up) will be used to further develop each designer’s business in such areas as marketing, public relations, production and sales. In addition to the cash prizes, the award also includes mentorship from an esteemed group of industry professionals whose expertise is tailored to the designers’ needs and future goals. Past mentors include Howard Socol, Rose Marie Bravo, Millard “Mickey” Drexler, Mark Lee and Domenico de Sole.

Since its inception in 2003, the program has granted $1.8 million to eighteen design companies, including winners Alexander Wang, Doo.Ri, Proenza Schouler, Rogan, Sophie Theallet, Trovata, and runners-up 3.1 Phillip Lim, Albertus Swanepoel, Derek Lam, Monique Péan, Patrik Ervell, Philip Crangi, Rodarte, Thakoon, Thom Browne, and Vena Cava.

In 2007, the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund created a separate Business Advisory Committee to review the applications of the ten CVFF Finalists (independently of the Selection Committee) with the intent of providing a more focused business perspective and targeted feedback on the designers’ future potential in the business. The Business Advisory Committee will also be available to the seven finalists (who are not chosen as a winner / runner-up) as an on-going resource for mentoring, questions & answers and guidance.