The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) continues to prepare the next generation of industry talent by identifying the most gifted students studying fashion design at the nation’s leading design colleges and universities and awarding scholarships to them through the prestigious CFDA Scholarship programs.

The 2010 recipients of 11 scholarships will be awarded through four separate Educational Initiatives:

Geoffrey Beene Design Scholarship
Liz Claiborne Fashion Scholarship
CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarship
CFDA Scholarship



This year’s 2010 GEOFFREY BEENE $25,000 DESIGN SCHOLAR AWARD goes to: Carmen Chen Wu, Parsons The New School For Design.

A $5,000,000 endowment from the Geoffrey Beene Foundation in 2007 expanded CFDA’s core scholarship program, significantly increasing scholarship grants by $2,500,000.  This generous pledge also funded establishment of the merit-based $25,000 GEOFFREY BEENE DESIGN SCHOLAR AWARD that brings the work of this legendary American fashion designer, into classrooms through a specialized instructional program. Students are challenged to look beyond conforming to trends and business restraints in order to advance the art form.

Students are asked to submit Ten (10) black and white croquis sketches for designs on

8 ½ x11 paper showing a 360º view for each garment and one full-color final illustration, measuring 18 x  24 of a quintessential Spring/Summer or Fall/Winter 2012 GEOFFREY BEENE Women’s collection look.


Student submissions were judged by a panel of industry experts: Kim Hastreiter, editor of Paper magazine, author of Geoffrey Beene: An American Fashion Rebel ; Russell Nardozza, SVP / COO, GEOFFREY BEENE, LLC; and designers/CFDA Members Doo-Ri Chung, Maria Cornejo, Richard Lambertson, and Anna Sui ,the 2009 Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award Winner.




$25,000 Scholarship Awarded to: Jusil Carroll, Fashion Institute of Technology.

Named for the designer known as the “working woman’s best friend”, the Liz Claiborne Fashion Scholarship Award was established by her husband and business partner Art Ortenberg in 2008 to help identify a womenswear design student who, given the current culture and world in which today’s woman lives, best addresses her lifestyle and needs for the 21st century.

Applicants are required to submit a collection of 10-15 full-color illustrated looks related to American sportswear (today) and based on the core design principles of the designer, Liz Claiborne. 


The Committee included Industry experts Van Lupu of Pratt Institute, Andrew Rosen, President/COO, THEORY and designers/CFDA Members Dana Buchman, Sophie Buhai & Lisa Mayock (VENA CAVA), Norma Kamali and Charles Nolan.

CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarship in partnership with Target


$25,000 Target Fashion Scholar Awarded to: Nicole Goh, Deer Park High School in Deer Park, NY

$5,000 CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarships awarded to: Danielle Perret, Langham Creek High School, Houston, TX. and Remy Renzullo, The Putney School in Putney, VT., originally from Torrington, CT.


The CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarship was established in 2007 to help foster the design education of promising students seeking Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees at one of CFDA’s 16 participating 4-year colleges, universities, and design schools in the United States.

Submission requirements include an application, essay, official high school transcript, letters of recommendation and a “mood board” which includes sketches and provides insight into his/her particular design aesthetic.

Scholarship recipients are selected by a committee of industry experts, including several representatives from Teen Vogue as well as Teen Vogue editor Amy Astley, CFDA members Richard Chai and Thakoon Panichgul and Jamie Curtis, Senior Manager,  Design Partnerships at Target. 







$10,000 Scholarships Awarded to: Peter Nguyen, Academy of Art University; Yuen Chi Lo, Parsons The New School For Design; Lauren Burnet, Parsons The New School For Design.


$5,000 Scholarships Awarded to: Elin Johansson, Fashion Institute of Technology; Lisa Relth, Academy of Art University; Wei-Li Ting, Academy of Art University (recipient of the Clara Hancox Scholarship Award for Menswear Design).

The CFDA Scholarship Program was created in 1996, to award annual merit-based scholarship grants to students in their junior year of study in a four-year, full-time college level fashion design program.

Submission requirements include a portfolio of 10-15 original apparel or accessories designs.

The 2010 Selection Committee was comprised of CFDA Members John Anthony, Miranda Morrison (SIGERSON MORRISON), Jeff Halmos & Sam Shipley (SHIPLEY~HALMOS), Charlotte Neuville, and Italo Zucchelli (CALVIN KLEIN Men’s Collection).

Since 1996, the CFDA has awarded 141 scholarships totaling $550,000.

This year’s recipients join some of the most talented young American designers working today, including CFDA Scholarship inaugural-year winner Peter Som (1996), Jack McCollough, of Proenza Schouler (2001) and Chris Benz (2003).


The CFDA Scholarship Program is in partnership with GEOFFREY BEENE, Art Ortenberg, Target, and Teen Vogue, and supported by designer Joseph Abboud.




Academy of Art University, San Francisco, CA
California College of the Arts, San Francisco, CA
Columbus College of Art & Design, Columbus, OH
Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA
Fashion Institute of Technology, New York, NY
Kent State University, Kent, OH
Massachusetts College of Art & Design, Boston, MA
Miami International University of Art & Design, Miami, FL
Otis College of Art & Design, Los Angeles CA
Parsons The New School for Design, New York, NY
Philadelphia University, Philadelphia, PA
Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, NY
Rhode Island School of Design, Providence, RI
Savannah College of Art and Design, Savannah, GA
School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago, IL
University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH

About the CFDA


The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. (CFDA) is a not-for-profit trade association whose membership consists of more than 350 of America’s foremost fashion and accessory designers. CFDA Foundation, Inc. is a separate not-for-profit company, which was organized to raise funds for charity and industry activities. CFDA membership is by invitation only. New candidates are recommended by two current CFDA members, and voted in by the Board of Directors annually. Founded in 1962, the CFDA’s initial goals were, and still are, “to further the position of fashion design as a recognized branch of American art and culture, to advance its artistic and professional standards, to establish and maintain a code of ethics and practices of mutual benefit in professional, public, and trade relations, and to promote and improve public understanding and appreciation of the fashion arts through leadership in quality and taste.” WWW.CFDA.COM


For further information, contact:

Souri Kim


+1 212 590 5113