Billy Reid, Karl Lagerfeld, Prabal Gurung and Eddie Borgo



Cash Prizes Increased This Year

Rachel Feinstein Designed Trophy Given to Winner and Runners-Up

Last night, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) and Vogue announced the recipients of the seventh annual awards from the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund (CVFF). The winners and runners-up are:


Billy Reid


Eddie Borgo

Prabal Gurung

The winner and runners-up will each meet regularly with an assigned business mentor, based on their specific needs for business expertise and resources; meetings will take place on a monthly or as-needed basis.

Additionally, the winner and runners-up will receive cash prizes—$300,000 for the winner and $100,000 for each of the runners-up. This represents the first time the cash prize has been increased; previously the amounts were $200,000 and $50,000. The cash awards are designed to encourage and enable these emerging designers to pursue their design plans. The program has now granted $2.3 million in total to eighteen design companies, including 3.1 Phillip Lim, Albertus Swanepoel, Alexander Wang, Derek Lam, Doo.Ri, Monique Péan, Patrik Ervell, Philip Crangi, Proenza Schouler, Rodarte, Rogan, Sophie Theallet, Thakoon, Thom Browne, and Vena Cava.

The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund is in partnership with J.CREW, and is generously underwritten by American Express, Appleman Foundation, Barneys New York, Coach, Juicy Couture, Liz Claiborne Inc., Lord & Taylor, L’Oréal Paris, Nordstrom, Theory, and Vogue.

The 2010 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Awards gala was generously underwritten by eBay.

TheCFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund was established in 2003 to help emerging American design talent find continued success in the business of fashion. This year, 122 individual design businesses requested applications. From the 89 that were completed, the CVFF Selection Committee selected ten finalists, whose names were announced in July 2010. They were:

ALTUZARRA – Joseph Altuzarra

BILLY REID – Billy Reid

CHRISTIAN COTA – Christian Cota

EDDIE BORGO – Eddie Borgo

GREGORY PARKINSON – Gregory Parkinson

LODEN DAGER – Oliver Helden and Paul Marlow

MOSS LIPOW – Moss Lipow


PRABAL GURUNG – Prabal Gurung

ROBERT GELLER – Robert Geller

On hand to celebrate the achievement of this year’s winners and honorees were an array of iconic American designers, including CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg, Joseph Altuzarra, Michael Bastian, Chris Benz, Tory Burch, Georgina Chapman, Francisco Costa, Prabal Gurung, Carolina Herrera, Michael Kors, Reed Krakoff, Jenna Lyons, Ashley Olsen, Mary-Kate Olsen, David Neville, Zac Posen, Rachel Roy, Behnaz Sarafpour, Peter Som, Marcus Wainwright, Vera Wang, and Jason Wu; as well as Carey Mulligan, who presented the Awards to the winners; Karl Lagerfeld, who spoke of his parallel career trajectory with Yves Saint Laurent at the start of their careers; and former CVFF winners and runners-up Thom Browne, Doo-Ri Chung, Lazaro Hernandez, Derek Lam, Phillip Lim, Jack McCollough, Thakoon Panichgul, and Alexander Wang. Other notables included Christine Beauchamp, Maggie Betts, Alexis Bledel, Hamish Bowles, Miranda Brooks, Reeve Carney, Alexa Chung, Grace Coddington, Chace Crawford, Rachel Feinstein, Hugo Guinness, Karlie Kloss, Steven Kolb, Kay Krill, Karolina Kurkova, Aerin Lauder, David Lauren, Leighton Meester, Seth Meyers, Carey Mulligan, Carolyn Murphy, Hanneli Mustaparta, Christina Ricci, Lauren Santo Domingo, Allison Sarofim, Elisa Sednaoui, Andre Leon Talley, Mario Testino, Olivier Theyskens, Harvey Weinstein, Gucci Westman, Ed Westwick, and Anna Wintour.

“The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund is the preeminent program in support of emerging talent,” said CFDA Executive Director Steven Kolb. “It continues to lead by nurturing talent and providing mentorship and business grants. The success of the program has created a fresh face around the world for the American fashion industry and has inspired other countries to duplicate our efforts.”

The winner and runners-up were presented with specially commissioned bronze awards created by sculptor Rachel Feinstein. The winner received a swan with its neck tucked delicately under its wing, a design inspired by a Cesar de Santo reproduction of the lost Leonardo Da Vinci painting Leda and the Swan. The two runners-up each received a bronze egg, also crafted by the artist, as part of their award—a first in the seven year history of the Fund. Fashion Fund winners past, present, and future will receive the Feinstein sculptures. All ten finalists from this year will be presented with a reproduction of Feinstein’s original sketches to commemorate the event.

“After many years of this award ceremony, we finally realized that it would be great for the winners and runners-up to actually have an award to take home at the end of the evening,” said Vogue’s Editor in Chief, Anna Wintour. “Rachel is not only a wonderful artist and sculptor but is also a true fashion original, and a muse and inspiration to so many designers.”

The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund also provides ongoing mentorship and support to all of the finalists through its Business Advisory Committee. The resource is for guidance and targeted feedback on these designers’ future potential and growth in the business.


2010 CVFF Business Advisory Committee:

Christine Beauchamp, President, Ann Taylor Stores, ANN TAYLOR

Harlan Bratcher, Chief Executive, AX ARMANI

Richard Dickson, President, JONES APPAREL GROUP

Douglas Hand, Founding Partner, HAND, BALDACHIN & AMBURGEY, LLP

Karen Harvey, Chief Executive Officer, KAREN HARVEY CONSULTING GROUP

Brendan Hoffman, Chairman and CEO, LORD & TAYLOR

Miriam Lahage, General Manager, EBAY FASHION

Tom Murry, President and CEO, CALVIN KLEIN INC.

Maryann Fitzmaurice Reilly, SVP, OPEN Partnerships and Business Development, AMERICAN EXPRESS

David N. Roberts, Senior Managing Director, ANGELO, GORDON & CO.

Andrew Rosen, President and COO, THEORY LLC

Mortimer Singer, President, MARVIN TRAUB ASSOCIATES

Paula Sutter, President, DIANE VON FURSTENBERG


CVFF Selection Committee:

Julie Gilhart, Senior Vice President/Fashion Director, BARNEYS NEW YORK

Mark Holgate, Fashion News Director, VOGUE

Jeffrey Kalinsky, President, JEFFREY and Executive Vice President, NORDSTROM

Steven Kolb, Executive Director, CFDA

Reed Krakoff, President, Executive Creative Director, COACH

Jenna Lyons, Executive Creative Director, J.CREW

Andrew Rosen, President and Founder, THEORY

Lisa Smilor, Associate Executive Director, CFDA

Diane von Furstenberg, President, CFDA

Anna Wintour, Editor in Chief, VOGUE

To be eligible for the CVFF, an applicant must: 1) have a primary design business in the United States that has been in existence for a minimum of two consecutive years; 2) be a designer of demonstrable talent, as evidenced through substantial and recent editorial coverage, and have support (i.e., orders) from key retailers; and 3) have professional staff (paid and volunteer) that can devote the time and effort required to accomplish the stated aims of an applicant’s design career plans.

For more information, please contact:

CFDA Vogue

Megan Salt

+1 212 286 6884

Souri Kim/KCD

+ 1 212 590 5113