And the Nominees are…

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) announced the nominees and honorees for the 2013 CFDA Fashion Awards at an exclusive event hosted by CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg and Nadja Swarovski at the new CFDA offices in lower Manhattan.

The 2013 CFDA Fashion Awards will take place on Monday, June 3rd at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall and will be digitally broadcast on Tuesday, June 4th, only on

Von Furstenberg started the proceedings by thanking Nadja and Swarovski for their continued support of American fashion. Von Furstenberg and CFDA CEO Steven Kolb then made the announcements of nominees and honorees.

The nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year Award are Alexander Wang, Marc Jacobs and Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler.  The Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are: Steven Cox & Daniel Silver for Duckie Brown, Michael Bastian, and  Thom Browne. For Accessory Designer of the Year Award the nominees are Phillip Lim for 3.1 Phillip Lim, Alexander Wang, and Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler.

Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind, Carly Cushnie & Michelle Ochs for Cushnie et Ochs, and Erin Beatty & Max Osterweis for Suno have been nominated for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear. The nominees for the Swarovski Award for Menswear are Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne for Public School, Tim Coppens, and Todd Snyder. For the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are Irene Neuwirth, Jennifer Meyer, and Pamela Love.

The Swarovski Award recipients in each category will receive generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources.

The honorary awards go to a diverse group of people. The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner, will be presented to Vera Wang.

The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, the influential journalist who revolutionized fashion reporting with her reports in the New York City Herald Tribune, will be given to Tim Blanks.

The Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert who is widely credited with putting American fashion on the map, will go to Oscar de la Renta.

The Board of Directors’ Tribute Award goes to costume designer Colleen Atwood for her indelible contributions to the world of film and fashion.

The International Award will go to Riccardo Tisci of Givenchy for making an outstanding creative contribution to the world of fashion.

“The CFDA Fashion Awards celebrate American design talent and the influence our industry has across the globe,” said Steven Kolb, CFDA’s CEO. “This year’s nominees and honorees represent the best and most creative talent of the past year as determined by a Guild of their peers.  We look forward to announcing our winners on June 3 and thank Swarovski for its long time commitment to and support of the event.”

“We are proud to celebrate our partnership with the CFDA Fashion Awards for the twelfth consecutive year,” said Nadja Swarovski, Member of the Executive Board, Swarovski Crystal Business. “Each of this year’s nominees is an inspiring industry leader who has played a powerful role in making American fashion what it is today. Meanwhile, spearheading a new generation of American talent are the nominees for the Swarovski Awards. We hope their vision and exceptional creativity will make them leaders of the industry in years to come.”

Nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Selection Committee, made up of the 400+ members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists. The nominees, as well as recipients of the honorary awards, were confirmed yesterday at a meeting of the CFDA Board of Directors.

The final votes will be tabulated by Ernst & Young LLP, the official accounting firm of the 2013 CFDA Fashion Awards.

The 2013 CFDA Fashion Awards will be produced by KCD.

Collateral will be art directed by Laird + Partners.