2013 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Finalists


On July 10, the ten 2013 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund (CVFF) finalists were announced at the Rag & Bone studio. Former Fashion Fund finalists Marcus Wainwright and David Neville, managing partners of Rag & Bone, the newest additions to the selection committee, welcomed guests and announced the new group of designers.

The 2013 finalists are:

Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne, Public School

Jason Jones and Mike Feldman, Parabellum

Juan Carlos Obando, Juan Carlos Obando

Marc Alary, Marc Alary

Misha Nonoo, Nonoo

Ryan Lobo and Ramon Martin, TOME

Shimon Ovadia and Ariel Ovadia, Ovadia & Sons

Tim Coppens, Tim Coppens

Todd Snyder, Todd Snyder

Veronica Swanson Beard and Veronica Miele Beard, Veronica Beard

In the next few weeks, the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Selection Committee will meet with each Finalist to review their current collections and to conduct in-depth interviews. Subsequently, Committee members will make site visits to the design studio of each Finalist. As part of the judging process, this year’s Finalists will be asked to participate in a special design project underwritten by Uniqlo. The designers’ one-of-a-kind looks will be unveiled in October. Additionally, a fashion show featuring several looks by each Finalist, will take place at Chateau Marmont in Los Angles in October.

The winner(s) will be announced in New York City on November 11 at a gala dinner.

“I could go on and on about the considerable achievements that the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund has made in its decade long existence. But to my mind simply mentioning the likes of such previous winners as Proenza Schouler, Alexander Wang, Rodarte, and Joseph Altuzarra more than demonstrates just how much the fund has brought to American fashion. This year’s ten finalists are going to be following in some pretty illustrious footsteps” says Anna Wintour, Editor in Chief, Vogue.

CFDA Chief Executive Officer Steven Kolb says, “The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund has cultivated a generation of renowned American designers whose creative talent is known around the world. Now in its 10th anniversary, the program continues to offer specialized mentoring and business grants that are integral to fostering the next wave of successful design talent.”

New to the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Selection Committee are CFDA members and Fashion Fund alumni Marcus Wainwright and David Neville of rag & bone, who were finalists of the program in 2006.

The members of the 2013 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Selection Committee are:         

Ken Downing, Senior VP/ Fashion Director, NEIMAN MARCUS

David Neville and Marcus Wainwright, Managing Partners, RAG & BONE

Mark Holgate, Fashion News Director, VOGUE

Jeffrey Kalinsky, President, JEFFREY and Executive Vice President, NORDSTROM

Steven Kolb, CEO, CFDA

Reed Krakoff, President, Executive Creative Director, COACH

Jenna Lyons, Executive Creative Director, J.CREW

Andrew Rosen, President and Founder, THEORY

Diane von Furstenberg, President, CFDA

Anna Wintour, Editor in Chief, VOGUE


The CVFF program provides financial support and business mentorship for emerging designers and is generously sponsored by partner J.CREW, as well as underwriters American Express, Appleman FoundationCarolina Herrera, Coach Foundation, kate spade new york, Neiman Marcus, Nordstrom, thecorner.com, The Limited, The Ralph Bartel Foundation , Theory, Tiffany & Co., Tommy Hilfiger, and VogueIn addition, for 2013 the fund has added three new underwriters: Lane Bryant, Sycamore Partners, and Uniqlo.