2010 CFDA Fashion Awards Scheduled for June 7 at Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center

Swarovski to Generously Underwrite the Evening

Nominating Ballots Sent Out February 8

New York, NY, February 18, 2010—The 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards, honoring the best in American fashion, will take place Monday, June 7 at Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center. For the ninth year in a row, the Awards will be generously underwritten by Swarovski, the world’s leading producer of cut crystal. The evening will start with a cocktail hour followed by the Awards ceremony and then a light dinner in the theater lobby.

“We are excited to be returning to Alice Tully Hall for a second time,” said Steven Kolb, executive director of the CFDA. “The CFDA Fashion Awards deserves a proper theater and stage. This year’s show will be very powerful and we will again include live fashion elements as we salute the top talent in our industry.”

Given annually since 1981, a CFDA Fashion Award is the highest honor that can be bestowed upon a member of the fashion community. In an ongoing effort to recognize the outstanding contributions made to American fashion by individuals from all sectors of the industry, awards will be given for design excellence in womenswear, menswear and accessories as well as extraordinary accomplishments in journalism, creative vision and lifetime achievement. Last year’s winners included Kate & Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte for Womenswear Designer of the Year, a tie between Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders and Italo Zucchelli for Calvin Klein for Menswear Designer of the Year, and Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler for Accessory Designer of the Year. Anna Sui was honored with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

Additionally, each year the CFDA honors emerging designers for their achievements with the Swarovski Awards. Winners of the Swarovski Awards receive generous financial support from Swarovski in addition to access to the company’s extensive crystal resources. Last year Alexander Wang was the recipient of the award for womenswear; Tim Hamilton took the menswear award; and Justin Giunta of Subversive Jewelry won the award for accessory design. The Swarovski Awards are some of the most anticipated awards of the evening, and serve as a barometer of fashion’s future. Past recipients include Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders, Doo-Ri Chung, Derek Lam, Phillip Lim, Kate & Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte, Zac Posen, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marcus Wainwright & David Neville for Rag & Bone.

“Swarovski is pleased to announce our sponsorship of the CFDA Fashion Awards for the ninth consecutive year,” said Nadja Swarovski, vice president of international communications, Swarovski. “We have a long-lasting and ongoing commitment to emerging talent in the fashion industry and the CFDA Fashion Awards provides the perfect platform for our mission to embrace and foster young designers with immense and unique creative abilities. These relationships allow Swarovski to not only be one of fashion’s most prestigious global brands, but also a significant part of the industry’s future.”

Nominating ballots were emailed on February 8 to the more than 800 CFDA members, press, retailers and stylists of the CFDA Fashion Awards Selection Committee. Committee members can then cast their nominating ballots at www.cfda.com until 11:59pm on Friday, March 12. On Wednesday, March 17, Nadja Swarovski and Diane von Furstenberg will host a press conference and cocktail party to announce the Award nominees and honorees.

A final round of voting will commence mid-May. Ernst & Young LLP, the official accounting firm of the 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards, will tabulate the ballots and determine the winners, which will be revealed at the June 7 Awards gala.

The 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards will be produced by KCD and art directed by Laird + Partners. W Hotels Worldwide is the official hotel.

ABOUT THE CFDA – The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. (CFDA) is a not-for-profit trade association whose membership consists of more than 340 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry and accessory designers. CFDA Foundation, Inc. is a separate not-for-profit organization, which was organized to raise funds for charity and industry activities.

Souri Kim / KCD

Jennifer Meyer / Starworks